Every legal Ontario online casino is either OLG.ca, the province’s own site, or a private operator registered by the AGCO with an operating agreement with iGaming Ontario. You must be 19+ and physically in Ontario when you place a bet. A brand that does not appear in the iGaming Ontario directory is not licensed for the province, whatever its advertising says.
How the regulated Ontario casino market works
Ontario opened its online market to private operators on 4 April 2022. Two bodies share the work. The Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) registers operators and writes the Registrar’s Standards for Internet Gaming. iGaming Ontario (iGO), a provincial agency, conducts and manages online gaming and signs an operating agreement with each private operator. The split exists because the Criminal Code lets only a province conduct and manage gambling; our iGaming Ontario guide walks through the model step by step.
When our editors checked the iGO directory on 29 October 2026, its header listed 49 operators and 84 gaming websites. OLG.ca is the single registered site without an iGO agreement, because OLG is the crown corporation itself. New Ontario online casinos are added to the directory when they are allowed to take bets, so a brand that announces a launch before it shows up there is not yet authorised.
Legal options compared: OLG and registered operators
The table puts the crown products first, then registered private brands roughly in order of our score. A crown site or an AGCO registration earns the full 30 points for legal standing under our method; the rest of the score depends on payments, bonus terms, product range and player protection. Missing values mean the operator has not published the figure or we could not confirm it.
| # | Operator | Score | Regulator | Interac | Sports | Payout time | In your province |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 88 Recommended | Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | - | |
| 2 | 78 Acceptable | OLG | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | - | |
| 3 | 89 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | Yes | Not stated | - | |
| 4 | 86 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | Yes | Not stated | - | |
| 5 | 86 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | Yes | Not stated | - | |
| 6 | 85 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | No | Not stated | - | |
| 7 | 83 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | No | Not stated | - | |
| 8 | 83 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | - | |
| 9 | 83 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | Yes | Not stated | - | |
| 10 | 82 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | No | Not stated | - | |
| 11 | 82 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | No | Not stated | - | |
| 12 | 81 Recommended | AGCO / iGaming Ontario | Yes | No | Not stated | - |
You will not find welcome offers or promo codes on this page. AGCO Standard 2.05 bars registered operators from advertising bonuses and inducements in public, and the AGCO counts the display of promotional codes as indirect advertising. Offers may appear on the operator’s own site and in direct marketing a player has consented to, so that is where to read the current terms.
What OLG.ca offers Ontario players
OLG.ca belongs to the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation. It sells lottery tickets online, runs an online and live casino, and hosts PROLINE+, the OLG online sportsbook with single-event and live betting. Online casino and PROLINE+ require you to be 19 or older and an Ontario resident, and self-exclusion on OLG runs through My PlayBreak. The paper PROLINE sports lottery sold at retailers has a lower age of 18. The OLG review covers account rules and the payment methods listed in its player agreement.
Visit OLG.ca19+ (18+ in AB, MB, QC). Terms apply.
BetRivers, Spin Genie, Luxury Casino and GGPoker in Ontario
A handful of brand names dominate Ontario searches. All of these were in the iGO directory when we checked: BetRivers (Rush Street Interactive Canada), Spin Genie, GGPoker (NSUS Limited) and three Apollo Entertainment casinos, Luxury Casino, Golden Tiger and Yukon Gold Casino, each on its own Ontario web address. That last point matters. Some groups run one site for Ontario and a separate site for the rest of Canada under a non-provincial licence; Captain Cooks Casino and Sports Interaction work this way. Only the Ontario version falls under AGCO standards.
Online poker in Ontario still runs in a ring-fenced provincial player pool. According to industry and law-firm reports, the Ontario Court of Appeal found in November 2025 that sharing tables with players outside Canada could be lawful if iGaming Ontario keeps conduct and management, and the Supreme Court of Canada heard the appeal on 7 October 2026 with judgment reserved. Until a ruling and a rollout, registered rooms such as GGPoker, 888 Poker, BetMGM Poker and FanDuel Poker seat only players located in Ontario.
Best paying online casino in Ontario: reading payout claims
“Best paying” can mean two different things. The first is return to player (RTP), which the game studio sets and publishes in each game’s help screen; it is a long-run average across a very large number of rounds and says nothing reliable about one session. The second is how quickly a casino releases a withdrawal, which depends on identity checks and the payment method. AGCO standards require bets and payouts in Canadian dollars, and many registered operators list Interac among their payment methods. We show each operator’s published payout time where one exists rather than timing withdrawals ourselves.
Offshore casinos and Ontario residents
Sites holding a Kahnawake, Malta, Curacao or Anjouan licence but no AGCO registration are not authorised to offer gaming in Ontario. Many block Ontario players. Those that do not leave you outside the provincial safety net: no AGCO standards, no BetGuard coverage and no provincial route if a withdrawal is held back. We do not offer workarounds for those blocks. If a brand you know is missing from the directory, the regulated alternative is a registered site or OLG.ca. The Kahnawake licence guide explains why a First Nations permit is not a provincial licence.
OLG lottery: national draws and Lottario
OLG sells the national draws, Lotto Max, Lotto 6/49 and Daily Grand, along with Ontario-only games such as Lottario and the ENCORE add-on. OLG says you must be 18 or older to buy lottery tickets, a year younger than the online casino age. Tickets are sold at retailers and through an OLG.ca account, and OLG publishes official winning numbers on its own site. We show recent draws on the Lottario page and the other game pages as a convenience; always confirm a ticket with OLG or a retailer.
Self-exclusion and free help in Ontario
iGO points players to two routes: each operator’s own self-exclusion programme, or BetGuard, a centralised self-exclusion that covers all regulated online gambling in Ontario at once. Complaints go to the operator first; the iGO player FAQ does not describe a separate ombudsman. Since 28 February 2024 the AGCO has also banned active and retired athletes from igaming advertising unless they appear only to promote responsible gambling. For support, ConnexOntario answers at 1-866-531-2600, 24 hours a day, every day. Practical tools and warning signs are collected on our responsible gambling page.
Questions readers ask
- Is online casino gambling legal in Ontario?
Yes, on OLG.ca and on sites registered by the AGCO that hold an operating agreement with iGaming Ontario. You must be 19 or older and physically inside Ontario when you place a wager.
- Can I use my Ontario casino account while I travel?
You can open or access an account from outside the province, but iGaming Ontario rules stop you placing wagers until geolocation shows you are back in Ontario.
- How do I check whether a casino is licensed in Ontario?
Search the brand and its exact web address in the iGaming Ontario directory of operators and gaming websites. Some groups run a look-alike site for the rest of Canada under another licence, so compare the address, not just the name.
- Why are there no bonus codes for Ontario casinos here?
AGCO Standard 2.05 prohibits public advertising of inducements and bonuses by registered operators, including promotional codes. Current offers are shown on the operator's own site once you are a customer or have opted in to its marketing.
- Are Luxury Casino, Golden Tiger and Yukon Gold legal in Ontario?
Their Ontario sites, run by Apollo Entertainment, were listed in the iGaming Ontario directory on 29 October 2026. Use the Ontario addresses shown in that directory rather than versions aimed at other provinces.
