Skip to the report
Canadian Caper Gambling, checked. Province by province.

Operator report

Captain Cooks Casino Review

Two sites under one name: the Ontario-registered Captain Cooks Casino and the Kahnawake-licensed version for the rest of Canada, and what each means for you.

Captain Cooks Casino Review
75/100

Verdict

Acceptable

Provincially licensed AGCO / iGaming Ontario (Ontario site); Kahnawake Gaming Commission (captaincooks.casino, rest of Canada); AGLC / Alberta iGaming Corporation (Alberta)

Licence and legal standing
30/30
Payments and payouts
12/20
Bonus fairness
8/15
Product
9/15
Player protection
16/20

How we score

Where it is legal

  • BCOffshore access
  • QCOffshore access
  • MBOffshore access
  • SKOffshore access
  • NSOffshore access
  • NBOffshore access
  • PEOffshore access
  • NLOffshore access
  • YTOffshore access
  • NTOffshore access
  • NUOffshore access

"Offshore access" means the site accepts players there without a provincial licence: provincial rules and complaint routes do not cover it.

Two different sites trade as Captain Cooks Casino in Canada. In Ontario, Apollo Entertainment Ltd runs a site registered with the AGCO under an agreement with iGaming Ontario. A separate site for the rest of Canada is held by Fresh Horizons Ltd. under a Kahnawake Gaming Commission permit and is not licensed by any province. This Captain Cooks Casino review keeps the two apart, because the rules and your protection differ.

Apollo Entertainment Ltd is also on the AGLC register in Alberta, listing Captain Cooks Casino among its brands, but we could not confirm that the brand is already live in Alberta’s private market.

Captain Cooks Casino licence: two sites, two rulebooks

The licence line on file reads: AGCO / iGaming Ontario (Ontario site); Kahnawake Gaming Commission (captaincooks.casino, rest of Canada); AGLC / Alberta iGaming Corporation (Alberta). Here is what each part means for a player.

Version Who runs it Licence Who can play
Ontario site Apollo Entertainment Ltd AGCO registration, iGaming Ontario agreement 19+, physically in Ontario
Alberta Apollo Entertainment Ltd On the AGLC register; go-live not confirmed 18+, physically in Alberta
Rest-of-Canada site Fresh Horizons Ltd. Kahnawake Gaming Commission permit; no provincial licence Canadians outside Ontario

On the Ontario site the AGCO’s Registrar’s Standards for Internet Gaming apply, including its limits on bonus advertising, and iGO’s advice is to take complaints to the operator first. The Kahnawake site follows the Kahnawake Gaming Commission’s own regulations. The commission is not a provincial regulator, and federal and provincial authorities have not recognised it as a licensing body under the Criminal Code, s. 207. The legal position of such sites serving Canadians has not been settled by a definitive court ruling. We do not say that playing there is an offence for you; we say that provincial rules, provincial self-exclusion and provincial complaint routes do not cover it.

Our explainer on the Kahnawake Gaming Commission covers that model in more depth, and our iGaming Ontario guide shows how to check a brand in the regulated directory.

Captain Cooks Casino Ontario: the site to use in the province

In Ontario, the Ontario-specific site is the regulated one. It follows local rules on bonuses and advertising, so it can look different from the version a friend in Manitoba sees. Some searches for “Captain Cooks Casino Ontario” come from players who landed on the rest-of-Canada site; offshore sites may block Ontario players, and that is how the provincial model is meant to work. We do not explain ways around it; using a VPN or similar to reach the other site would breach the operator’s terms and leave you without Ontario’s protections.

Captain Cooks Casino Canada outside Ontario

For players in British Columbia, Quebec, the Prairies or Atlantic Canada, the Captain Cooks Casino you can reach is the Kahnawake-licensed site. Before you sign up, compare it with the regulated option in your province: PlayNow in B.C., Manitoba and Saskatchewan, Espacejeux in Quebec, Atlantic Lottery in the four Atlantic provinces, and Play Alberta or registered private operators in Alberta. Those sites answer to a provincial body; the Kahnawake site answers to the commission in Kahnawake.

Legit, but in two different senses

Is Captain Cooks Casino legit? The Ontario site is regulated in the full provincial sense. The rest-of-Canada site holds a published Kahnawake permit and describes itself as part of the Casino Rewards group, which it says was founded in 2000. It is a known business with a regulator, but no province licenses it. Our score of 75/100 out of 100 (verdict Acceptable) rates the brand as offered in Ontario and Alberta.

Visit Captain Cooks Casino19+ (18+ in AB, MB, QC). Terms apply.

Captain Cooks games: casino only

The brand sells casino games only; there is no sportsbook, poker room or lottery. The rest-of-Canada homepage leads with jackpot chances rather than table games, which hints at where the emphasis lies. We could not confirm a game count or a current studio list from a primary source, so we do not print one. If you play slots, check each game’s information panel for its RTP; our slots guide explains what those figures mean.

Captain Cooks Casino bonus and free spins

The two sites advertise different offers. According to its own homepage, the rest-of-Canada site promotes a low first-deposit offer of jackpot chances, followed by bonuses on later deposits. That offer belongs to the Kahnawake site; it is not the Ontario offer, so we leave the welcome offer field empty: not stated.

In Ontario, AGCO standard 2.05 allows bonuses to be communicated only on the operator’s own site and in opted-in direct marketing, and the display of promo codes counts as advertising. So we do not print Ontario bonus amounts or codes. Searches for “Captain Cooks Casino 80 free spins” refer to an offer we could not confirm; our Captain Cooks no deposit bonus page explains how these spin offers work and what to check.

Captain Cooks Casino withdrawal: the open questions

Neither the Ontario cashier list nor stated payout times could be confirmed from primary pages. The record:

Item On file
Payment methods not stated
Interac not stated
Minimum deposit not stated
Withdrawal time not stated

If a payout on the Ontario site stalls, raise it with the operator in writing; iGO advises players to start there. On the Kahnawake site, no provincial complaint route applies; the permit is issued by the Kahnawake Gaming Commission, not by a province.

Who can sign up, and where

In Ontario you must be 19 or older and physically in the province to wager; in Alberta the age is 18. The national rule is 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec). iGaming Ontario notes that you may access an account from outside Ontario but cannot place wagers there. Expect an identity check before your first withdrawal.

Six sister brands under Apollo Entertainment

In iGO’s directory, Apollo Entertainment Ltd runs seven Ontario brands: Captain Cooks Casino, Casino Classic, Golden Tiger, Grand Mondial, Luxury Casino, Yukon Gold Casino and Zodiac Casino. These are the confirmed sister sites in Ontario, and the same seven names appear under Apollo on the AGLC register. You can read our Casino Classic review for one of them. Our sister sites guide explains why a shared operator matters, for example when you self-exclude.

Help lines and self-exclusion

Ontario players can self-exclude through the operator or, through BetGuard, from all regulated Ontario online gambling at once. Help in Ontario: ConnexOntario, 1-866-531-2600, 24 hours a day. Help in Alberta: the Addiction Helpline, 1-866-332-2322. Our responsible gambling page lists support in other provinces.

Where Captain Cooks Casino fits for Canadian players

For adults in Ontario, the Ontario site is a regulated casino with known ownership and six sister brands under the same operator. Its weaknesses, from what we could confirm, are thin public data on the cashier, payout times and apps. For players elsewhere in Canada the picture changes: the brand name is the same, but the site is licensed in Kahnawake, not by a province, and the crown site in your province is the regulated choice. Check which version you are on before you deposit.

Visit Captain Cooks Casino19+ (18+ in AB, MB, QC). Terms apply.

Questions readers ask

Is Captain Cooks Casino legal in Ontario?

Yes. Its Ontario site is registered with the AGCO and operated by Apollo Entertainment Ltd under an agreement with iGaming Ontario.

Is Captain Cooks Casino licensed outside Ontario?

The separate rest-of-Canada site is licensed by the Kahnawake Gaming Commission and held by Fresh Horizons Ltd. It is not licensed by any province.

Which companies run the two Captain Cooks sites?

In Ontario the operator is Apollo Entertainment Ltd. The Kahnawake permit is held by Fresh Horizons Ltd., and the site says it belongs to the Casino Rewards group.

Which casinos share an operator with Captain Cooks in Ontario?

In Ontario, Apollo Entertainment Ltd also runs Casino Classic, Golden Tiger, Grand Mondial, Luxury Casino, Yukon Gold Casino and Zodiac Casino.

Can I play Captain Cooks Casino in Alberta?

Apollo Entertainment Ltd is on the AGLC register with Captain Cooks Casino among its brands, but we could not confirm that the brand is live in Alberta yet.

Scores and verdicts follow our published scoring rules. We earn a commission from some operators; it never changes a score. Facts come from operators' own pages and regulators' registries; we do not open accounts or make deposits. 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec). Help and limits.