Skip to the report
Canadian Caper Gambling, checked. Province by province.

Slot file

Eye of Horus Slot Review

Blueprint's 2016 Egyptian slot with an expanding Horus wild and upgrading symbols. Specs, how the features work and how the spin-offs differ.

Eye of Horus Slot Review

On paper, Eye of Horus is a compact game: Blueprint Gaming released it in September 2016 with 5 reels, 3 rows, 10 paylines, a published RTP of 96.31% and high volatility. Its two features are an expanding Horus wild and free spins in which low symbols upgrade to better ones. OLBG lists the maximum win as 500x the bet, a figure we could not cross-check elsewhere.

For real-money play, Canadian law points you to your provincial site or, in Ontario and Alberta, a registered private operator. You need to be 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec).

Eye of Horus: layout, return and release

Item Figure
Studio Blueprint Gaming
Released September 2016 (OLBG gives both 1 and 7 September)
Layout 5 reels x 3 rows, 10 paylines
RTP 96.31%
Volatility High
Max win 500x bet (OLBG only)

The Horus wild and symbol upgrades

The Horus symbol is an expanding wild: when it lands it grows to cover more of its reel and stands in for other symbols, which can complete more than one line. The free spins round adds symbol upgrades, where lower-paying symbols are replaced by better ones as the round goes on. The paytable states what triggers each upgrade and how many free spins you get.

Eye of Horus Megaways and Jackpot King

Many searches combine the name with Megaways or Jackpot King. These are separate builds of the game. Eye of Horus Megaways uses a variable reel engine and has its own page: see our Eye of Horus Megaways review. Jackpot King versions carry a jackpot feature on top of the base game; our research did not confirm their RTP or jackpot rules, so check the info screen. For progressive titles in general, see jackpot slots.

What 96.31% means here

The published return is in line with modern averages, but operators can run lower settings, and jackpot builds have their own figures. The paytable shows the RTP of the version in front of you. Compare it with the figures on our high RTP slots page.

Free play, demo and no deposit spins

We could not confirm an official Blueprint demo for Eye of Horus, and free play copies elsewhere may not match the real-money RTP. Eye of Horus free spins with no deposit are casino promotions with their own terms; the in-game free spins round is part of the game itself and is explained in the paytable. Read our free spins guide before claiming an offer, and note that bonus buy is not confirmed for the standard game.

Which Eye of Horus build a Canadian lobby shows

We have not confirmed which regulated lobbies carry it. Search at OLG, PlayNow, Espacejeux, Atlantic Lottery or a registered Ontario or Alberta operator and check which build you open. Tools to limit spending are listed on our responsible gambling page.

Where to play, by licence
#OperatorScoreStandingInteracIn your province
1OLG88 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
2PlayNow82 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
3Atlantic Lottery (ALC)81 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
4BetMGM Casino89 RecommendedProvincially licensedYes-
5Royal Vegas Casino83 RecommendedProvincially licensedYes-

Questions readers ask

Is 96.31% the RTP for every Eye of Horus version?

No. 96.31% is the published figure for the standard game. Jackpot and Megaways builds have their own figures, and operators may run lower settings.

How does the Horus wild work?

It expands on its reel and substitutes for other symbols. The free spins round adds symbol upgrades; the paytable gives the exact rules.

How does Eye of Horus Megaways differ from the original?

No. It uses a different reel engine and has its own specs and page.

How reliable is the Eye of Horus 500x max win figure?

OLBG lists 500x the bet for the standard game. We could not cross-check that figure.

Scores and verdicts follow our published scoring rules. We earn a commission from some operators; it never changes a score. Facts come from operators' own pages and regulators' registries; we do not open accounts or make deposits. 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec). Help and limits.