Skip to the report
Canadian Caper Gambling, checked. Province by province.

Slot file

Legacy of Dead Slot Review

Play'n GO's Egyptian 10-line slot with expanding free spin symbols and one of the widest RTP ranges we have seen. What to check before you play.

Legacy of Dead Slot Review

Legacy of Dead’s RTP depends heavily on where you play it: Play’n GO’s top setting is 96.58%, but OLBG lists four lower ones going down to 84.55%. The game, released in January 2020, runs on 5 reels and 3 rows with up to 10 selectable paylines, very high volatility and a maximum win of 5,000x the bet. The main feature is free spins with an expanding symbol.

As for where to play: the legal routes in Canada are your province’s own site and, in Ontario and Alberta, private operators registered with the provincial regulator. Minimum age is 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec).

Legacy of Dead fact sheet

Item Figure
Studio Play’n GO
Released 2 January 2020 (OLBG)
Layout 5 reels x 3 rows, 10 paylines (1-10 selectable)
RTP 96.58%; also 94.51%, 91.51%, 87.56%, 84.55%
Volatility Very high (OLBG)
Max win 5,000x bet

Free spins with an expanding symbol

The bonus round is free spins with expanding symbols, as listed on OLBG’s game sheet. Expanding symbols grow to cover more of the reels, which can turn a few scattered copies into a larger win. The exact trigger, how the symbol is chosen and how it pays are set out in the paytable. Book of Dead is another Play’n GO title players often compare it with; the two have separate figures.

The gamble feature

The game lists a gamble feature, an optional step after a win that risks it for a larger amount. A gamble step of this kind does not improve your expected return; it adds variance on top of an already very volatile game. Leaving it off helps a session last longer.

Legacy of Dead RTP: five settings, a 12-point spread

The gap between 96.58% and 84.55% is large. On the lowest setting the house keeps more than four times as much of each dollar wagered over the long run as on the top one. Operators choose which build to run, and we have not confirmed which version any Canadian lobby uses. The game’s paytable or rules page states the RTP in use. If it is well below 96%, consider another game; our high RTP slots list is a starting point.

Legacy of Dead demo and free spins no deposit offers

Play’n GO’s site could not be reached during our research, so we cannot confirm where its official demo sits. Third-party free play may not match the real-money RTP. Searches for Legacy of Dead free spins with no deposit point to casino promotions; the bonus round inside the game is a separate thing. Before accepting any offer, check its wagering and win cap with our no deposit free spins guide. A bonus buy is sometimes searched for, but we did not confirm one for this title.

Where to look in Canada

Search for the game at OLG, PlayNow, Espacejeux or a registered Ontario or Alberta operator. Availability varies by lobby. Limits and provincial help lines are on our responsible gambling page.

Where to play, by licence
#OperatorScoreStandingInteracIn your province
1OLG88 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
2PlayNow82 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
3Espacejeux (Loto-Quebec)82 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
4LeoVegas78 AcceptableProvincially licensedNot stated-
5Jackpot City82 RecommendedProvincially licensedYes-

Questions readers ask

Why does the Legacy of Dead RTP vary so much?

Play'n GO ships several settings. The top one is 96.58%, and OLBG also lists 94.51%, 91.51%, 87.56% and 84.55%. The casino chooses which to run.

What happens in the Legacy of Dead bonus round?

It is a free spins round with expanding symbols. The paytable explains how the symbol is picked and how expanded symbols pay.

What is the largest win Legacy of Dead allows?

5,000x the bet.

Can the Legacy of Dead free spins be bought directly?

We did not confirm a bonus buy for this title in our research.

Scores and verdicts follow our published scoring rules. We earn a commission from some operators; it never changes a score. Facts come from operators' own pages and regulators' registries; we do not open accounts or make deposits. 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec). Help and limits.