Skip to the report
Canadian Caper Gambling, checked. Province by province.

Slot file

Starburst Slot Review

NetEnt's 2012 low-volatility classic: expanding wilds, re-spins and wins both ways. Six RTP versions, free spin offers and legal options in Canada.

Starburst Slot Review

Starburst, NetEnt’s low-volatility slot from 2012, has no free spins round. Its one feature is an expanding wild with re-spins, on five reels, three rows and 10 fixed paylines that pay both ways. The top RTP is 96.09% and the maximum win is 500x the bet, according to OLBG’s game sheet, and the “Starburst free spins” you see advertised are casino promotions, not a game feature.

The game’s appeal is frequent small wins and a simple screen. Many searches pair it with numbers like 25 or 50 spins, because casinos name it in free spins offers.

Starburst slot machine specs

Item Figure
Studio NetEnt
Release 2012 (OLBG: 20 June 2012)
Layout 5 reels x 3 rows
Paylines 10 fixed, pay both ways
RTP 96.09% max; versions at 95.05%, 94.05%, 93.05%, 92.05%, 90.05%
Volatility Low
Maximum win 500x bet

Starburst Wilds and Win Both Ways

  • Starburst Wild. Appears only on reels 2, 3 and 4. When one lands, it expands to fill the whole reel and the game gives a free re-spin with the wild held in place.
  • Re-spins. A new wild during a re-spin also expands and adds another re-spin, up to three in a row.
  • Win Both Ways. Lines pay left to right and right to left, which roughly doubles the ways a line can hit.
  • No bonus round. There are no free spins, no buy feature and no multipliers.

Expanded wilds on several reels are how the larger line wins form. A 500x cap is modest next to most slots on this site, and it fits the low volatility rating.

Six RTP versions: check before you spin

OLBG lists six settings for Starburst, from 96.09% down to 90.05%. That gap is six percentage points: on $500 of total stakes, the expected return falls from about $480 to about $450. Operators choose the version, so open the game rules screen at your casino. Our high RTP slots page explains how to read these figures.

Starburst free spins offers in Canada

Offers such as “50 free spins on Starburst, no deposit” are casino promotions. Licensed operators publish the terms of such offers on their own sites. Read wagering, maximum cash-out and expiry before you accept anything. Our guides to free spins and no deposit free spins cover the fine print. Treat unlicensed Starburst slot sites pushing large spin bundles with care: they are not licensed by any province.

Demo and Starburst free play

NetEnt’s game page could not be reached at the address in our research, so we cannot confirm an official Starburst demo. Some regulated casinos let logged-in players try games in practice mode.

Legal Starburst slots in Canada

Play for money through OLG or an iGaming Ontario operator in Ontario, PlayAlberta or a registered operator in Alberta, PlayNow in BC, Manitoba and Saskatchewan, Loto-Quebec’s online casino in Quebec or Atlantic Lottery in the Atlantic provinces. You must be 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec). Low volatility does not mean low cost over time; set limits and see responsible gambling for help.

Where to play, by licence
#OperatorScoreStandingInteracIn your province
1OLG88 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
2PlayNow82 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
3Espacejeux (Loto-Quebec)82 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
4Atlantic Lottery (ALC)81 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
5BetMGM Casino89 RecommendedProvincially licensedYes-
6Jackpot City82 RecommendedProvincially licensedYes-

Questions readers ask

Does Starburst have free spins?

No. Its feature is expanding wilds with up to three re-spins. Starburst free spins come from casino promotions.

How many RTP versions does Starburst have?

96.09% at the top setting. OLBG lists versions down to 90.05%, so check the rules screen at your casino.

Is Starburst high or low volatility?

Low. The maximum win is 500x the bet, and wins come in small, frequent amounts.

Are 50 free spins on Starburst with no deposit real?

Some licensed casinos run such offers, usually with wagering and a cash-out cap. Read the terms on the operator's own site, and treat aggressive ads from unlicensed sites with care.

Scores and verdicts follow our published scoring rules. We earn a commission from some operators; it never changes a score. Facts come from operators' own pages and regulators' registries; we do not open accounts or make deposits. 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec). Help and limits.