Skip to the report
Canadian Caper Gambling, checked. Province by province.

Slot file

Fishin Frenzy Slot Review

Blueprint's 2014 fishing slot where a fisherman wild collects fish values in free spins. Specs, the bonus round and how the many spin-offs differ.

Fishin Frenzy Slot Review

Most of what Fishin’ Frenzy pays comes from its free spins round, where a fisherman wild collects the cash values shown on fish symbols. The game dates from September 2014 (Blueprint Gaming) and has 5 reels, 3 rows and 10 fixed paylines, a published RTP of 96.12% and high volatility. OLBG gives the maximum win as 5,000x the bet, which we could not confirm from a second source.

Real-money slot play is regulated province by province: crown sites everywhere, plus registered private operators in Ontario and Alberta. Players must be 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec).

Fishin Frenzy slot specs

Item Figure
Studio Blueprint Gaming
Released 13 September 2014 (OLBG)
Layout 5 reels x 3 rows, 10 fixed paylines
RTP 96.12%
Volatility High (OLBG)
Max win 5,000x bet (OLBG)

How the fisherman collects in free spins

Boat scatters trigger the round: 3, 4 or 5 of them award 10, 15 or 20 free spins. During the round, fish symbols carry cash values. When a fisherman wild lands on the same spin, he collects the values of the fish on screen. Fish values depend on a fisherman landing alongside them, which is one reason results swing so much. Later games, including Big Bass Bonanza from Pragmatic Play, use a similar collect idea with their own rules and figures.

Megaways, Jackpot King and Even Bigger Catch

Fishin Frenzy Megaways, the Jackpot King builds and other sequels are different games. Our research covered the original 10-line version, so the RTP and max win above apply only to it. One sequel has its own page: Fishin’ Frenzy Even Bigger Catch. For the variable-reel engine behind the Megaways build, see our Megaways slots page. Jackpot versions can split their return between the base game and the jackpot, so check the info screen.

The Fishin Frenzy RTP in practice

At 96.12%, the published figure is around the modern average. Operators may run lower builds, and the number in the game’s help screen is the one that counts. High volatility means the bonus round carries most of the return, and the base game can feel thin between triggers.

Free play and bonus offers

We could not confirm an official Blueprint demo. Free play copies on other sites may not run the same version. A bonus buy appears in searches, but we did not confirm one for the original game. Casino free spins offers on Fishin’ Frenzy are promotions with wagering rules; compare them on our free spins page.

Where it is offered in Canada

Search for the title at OLG, PlayNow, Espacejeux, Atlantic Lottery or a registered Ontario or Alberta operator. Lobbies may list several Fishin Frenzy versions side by side, so read the title carefully. Deposit limits and help lines are on our responsible gambling page.

Where to play, by licence
#OperatorScoreStandingInteracIn your province
1OLG88 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
2PlayNow82 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
3Atlantic Lottery (ALC)81 RecommendedProvincial siteNot stated-
4Jackpot City82 RecommendedProvincially licensedYes-
5BetMGM Casino89 RecommendedProvincially licensedYes-

Questions readers ask

Does every Fishin' Frenzy game pay 96.12%?

No. 96.12% is the published figure for the original game. Megaways, Jackpot King and sequel versions have their own figures.

How many free spins does Fishin Frenzy give?

3, 4 or 5 boat scatters award 10, 15 or 20 free spins.

What does the fisherman do?

In free spins, the fisherman wild collects the cash values on the fish symbols showing on the same spin.

Is there a Fishin Frenzy jackpot?

Our research lists no jackpot feature in the original game. Jackpot King versions add one; check their info screen for rules and RTP.

Scores and verdicts follow our published scoring rules. We earn a commission from some operators; it never changes a score. Facts come from operators' own pages and regulators' registries; we do not open accounts or make deposits. 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec). Help and limits.