Only one Big Thunder figure holds up across sources: the RTP of 94.38% for Ainsworth’s 2013 slot. Other figures are unsettled: sources rate the volatility as high or medium and give max wins from 75x to 500x, with one unverified claim far higher, so we publish none of them. We also could not confirm an official Big Thunder demo from Ainsworth.
Provincial crown sites, plus registered private operators in Ontario and Alberta, are the legal places to play slots for money in Canada. The age limit is 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec).
Big Thunder specs we could confirm
| Item | Figure |
|---|---|
| Studio | Ainsworth |
| Released | 2013 (SlotCatalog) |
| RTP | 94.38% |
| Layout and lines | Not published by the studio |
| Volatility | Not confirmed (sources say high or medium) |
| Max win | Not confirmed (sources say 75x to 500x) |
Big Thunder or Big Thunder MegaLoot
Ainsworth also makes Big Thunder MegaLoot, a separate and newer game. Its published figures are different: an RTP of 96.14% and a max win of 2,000x, according to a Sigma listing. If the lobby tile says MegaLoot, you are on that game, and the figures on this page do not apply. Match the full title before you rely on any number.
A note on the Big Thunder RTP
At 94.38%, the return sits below many newer online slots. Over a long session that gap matters more than any single feature. Operators may also choose a lower setting than the listed one, so read the figure in the game’s help screen before you start. Our high RTP slots page lists games with higher published returns.
Why the max win varies by source
Max win figures differ when sites quote a top line win, a top bonus win or a theoretical cap, and when some copy from each other. Without a studio figure we cannot tell which is right. The paytable inside the game shows the top symbol pays, which is the most reliable guide you have.
Demo, bonus buy and play in Canada
We did not find an official demo or any listed bonus buy for Big Thunder. A practice mode in a regulated casino is the safest free option where offered. We have not confirmed a Canadian online lobby carrying the original game. We list spin promotions on our free spins page. To set a budget first, our responsible gambling page explains deposit limits and time-outs.
| # | Operator | Score | Standing | Interac | In your province |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 88 Recommended | Provincial site | Not stated | - | |
| 2 | 82 Recommended | Provincial site | Not stated | - | |
| 3 | 81 Recommended | Provincial site | Not stated | - | |
| 4 | 76 Acceptable | Provincially licensed | Not stated | - | |
| 5 | 78 Acceptable | Provincially licensed | Not stated | - |
Questions readers ask
- What is the Big Thunder RTP?
94.38% is the listed figure. Check the game's help screen, as operators may run a lower setting.
- Is Big Thunder the same as Big Thunder MegaLoot?
No. MegaLoot is a separate Ainsworth game with an RTP of 96.14% and a 2,000x max win per Sigma.
- What is the Big Thunder max win?
Sources conflict, from 75x to 500x, so we have not confirmed a figure.
- Does Ainsworth offer a Big Thunder demo?
We could not confirm an official demo from Ainsworth.
