Pragmatic Play announced Big Bass Secrets of the Golden Lake on 8 April 2024: a 5×3 game with 10 fixed paylines, a studio-published RTP of 96.07%, very high volatility (per OLBG) and a maximum win of 5,000x the bet. It keeps the series’ fisherman-collects-fish free spins and adds a card reveal that can unlock a stronger Golden Lake round. Pragmatic’s official game page exists, but we could not confirm from its text that the demo loads for Canadian visitors.
The regulated way to play slots for money in Canada is a provincial site or, in Ontario and Alberta, a registered private operator. Players must be 19+ (18+ in Alberta, Manitoba and Quebec).
Golden Lake in figures
| Item | Figure |
|---|---|
| Studio | Pragmatic Play |
| Released | 8 April 2024 (Pragmatic Play news) |
| Layout | 5 reels x 3 rows, 10 fixed paylines |
| RTP | 96.07% (Pragmatic Play); 95.07% and 94.07% versions (OLBG) |
| Volatility | Very high (OLBG) |
| Max win | 5,000x bet |
The card reveal and Golden Lake free spins
Three or more scatters trigger free spins, up to 20 spins for five scatters. Before the round, a reveal of 12 cards decides which version you get: two of the twelve lead to Golden Lake free spins, the stronger mode. In both, fish symbols carry money values and the Fisherman Wild collects them. Every fourth fisherman collected adds 10 more spins and raises the multiplier applied to his collections.
Since only 2 of 12 cards lead to Golden Lake, most triggers land in the regular round. That is part of why the game is rated very high volatility.
Ante Bet and Buy Free Spins
Ante Bet is an optional mode that raises the stake per spin; the rules screen states what it changes. Buy Free Spins lets you pay a fixed price to enter the round directly, but it is not available in every market and operators can disable it. Both increase your spend per round, so plan your budget around the higher cost, not the base bet.
Golden Lake return: 96.07% at best
Pragmatic publishes 96.07%; OLBG also lists 95.07% and 94.07% builds. The casino picks the build. Check the game rules for the figure in use before playing for money. For comparison, Big Bass Bonanza and Big Bass Splash have their own published figures.
Looking for the Golden Lake demo
Pragmatic’s official page for the game is the place to look for a demo; its pages are titled as slot demos, but whether the frame loads in Canada we could not confirm. Third-party free play copies may run a different RTP. Our free slots page explains the difference.
Golden Lake at provincial and registered sites
We have not confirmed which provincial or private sites carry this game. Search at OLG, PlayNow, Espacejeux or a registered Ontario or Alberta operator. Free spins offers are covered on our free spins page, and help with limits on our responsible gambling page.
| # | Operator | Score | Standing | Interac | In your province |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 88 Recommended | Provincial site | Not stated | - | |
| 2 | 82 Recommended | Provincial site | Not stated | - | |
| 3 | 82 Recommended | Provincial site | Not stated | - | |
| 4 | 89 Recommended | Provincially licensed | Yes | - | |
| 5 | 78 Acceptable | Provincially licensed | Not stated | - |
Questions readers ask
- Which RTP does Big Bass Secrets of the Golden Lake run at?
Pragmatic Play publishes 96.07% as the top setting. OLBG lists 95.07% and 94.07% versions that operators may run; the game rules show which is loaded.
- How do you get Golden Lake free spins?
After triggering free spins, a reveal of 12 cards decides the mode. Two of the twelve lead to Golden Lake free spins.
- What is the largest payout in Secrets of the Golden Lake?
5,000x the bet, as published by Pragmatic Play.
- Is Buy Free Spins offered on Golden Lake everywhere?
No. Buy Free Spins exists but is not available in every market, and operators can switch it off.
